EMERGENCY, INFLUENCE AND PRACTICE: WEBINARS AND CONFERENCE

D6:EU invites you to an informative series of conversations to explore how the cultural sector can tackle the climate emergency.

Connecting the local to the global, and artists and cultural professionals to strategic frameworks, this series of events draws together environmentally conscious ways of working in Cyprus and across Europe.

We have a blueprint: the 2030 Agenda, the Sustainable Development Goals and the Paris Agreement on climate change. The door is open; the solutions are there. Now is the time to transform humankind’s relationship with the natural world – and with each other.  And we must do so together.

António Guterres – UN Secretary General, December 2021

PAST EVENTS

Continuing the conversation following our launch event in March 2022, we held two online practical workshops exploring how the cultural sector can tackle the climate crisis, with a focus on actions you and your organisations can take.

Workshop 1: Responsibility – an introduction to green tools

Caro Overy, Green Arts Manager, Creative Carbon Scotland, will lead this session that will include how to map and segment the carbon emissions of your organisation or artistic practice, and equip you with green tools to measure your carbon footprint using tools openly available. There will be plenty of time for questions and discussion. 

Date: Wednesday 20 April, 10.30-12.00 EEST // 9.30-11.00 CET // 8.30-10.00 BST
Location: Zoom

Workshop 2: Influence – amplifying your voice

In the participatory session led by Kay Michael, theatre-maker, co-founder of Culture Declares and co-director of Letters to the Earth, you will meet others, explore your concerns and responses to the climate and ecological emergency and ways you can take action, with an emphasis on the local. How can you make your voice heard? How can culture, creativity and art bring about change?

Date: Wednesday 20 April, 16.00-17.30 EEST // 15.00-16.30 CET // 14.00-15.30 BST  
NB This is a time change to previously advertised.
Location:
Zoom

Webinar: Culture and the Green Agenda: Introducing Global, European and Cypriot Frameworks

This event introduced the overarching global, European and Cypriot frameworks for the role of culture in supporting environmental and social sustainability.

Find out more about the webinar here

Conference: Emergency, Influence and Practice: A European conversation on Culture and Climate Action (in person)

Joined by an incredible panel of community, climate and cultural leaders and practitioners, this one day conference will offer practice-led examples from Cyprus and across Europe, asking how culture impacts the environment, how we measure our cultural impact, and how we are responding through practice and activism.

Find out more about the conference here